New National Construction Code

--- Stanley Li

--- Stanley Li

New National Construction Code has been adopted from 1 May 2019. Some significant changes will affect how we design and build. Here is a quick summary of key changes:

1. Energy rating
Energy efficiency changes are subject to a one year transition period from 1 May 2019, during which time, either the NCC 2016 or NCC 2019 requirements may be used.
New heating and cooling load limits for residential buildings using the NatHERS DTS compliance pathway.

2. Fire sprinklers
New DTS Provisions for fire sprinkler systems, for residential buildings four storeys and above and up to 25 metres in effective height (generally those buildings 4 to 8 storeys).
Fire sprinklers require building with an effective height of more than 25 meters only.

3. Accessible adult change facilities (AACF)
AACFs are sanitary facilities with additional features to assist people with more profound or complex disabilities who are unable to use standard accessible facilities independently. New requirements mean these facilities are required in certain new or redeveloped public buildings such as shopping centres, museums, theatres, sporting venues and airports.

4. New condensation management provisions.
Section F – Health and Amenity has been extended to now include Part F6, setting forth a performance requirement to now manage condensation and water vapour in Class 2 (apartment) and 4 (a dwelling or residence within a building of a non-residential nature) buildings.

5. New seal requirement and optional ‘door blow’ test